Melbourne Cup 2015

Get Started

Melbourne Cup 2016

On Tuesday the 1st of November 2016, the Melbourne Cup with be run for the 156th time. It is known as the ‘race that stops a nation’ and is now globally recognised as one of the greatest staying horse races. The eyes of the world will converge on Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria to see the world’s greatest horses run the famous 3200m race at 15:00 PM AEST.

Race Name Date Group Location Favourite Prize
Caulfield Cup 15 October 2016 Group 1 Caulfield Tarzino $2,500,000
Cox Plate 22 October 2016 Group 1 Mooney Valley Winx $3,050,000
Melbourne Cup 1 November 2016 Group 1 Flemington Fame Game $6,200,000

Makybe Diva remains the only horse to win three consecutive Melbourne Cup races (2003-05) giving jockey Glen Boss three wins. It places him behind Bobby Lewis and Harry White who are the only jockeys to ride four cup winners.

In relation to trainers the late Bart Cummings is the ‘Cups King’. Bart trained a record 12 winners in the Cup with his first and last wins spanning over four decades. His first winner was Light Fingers in 1965 with his most recent coming with Viewed in 2008. Bart was always one to put up a great fight against the International raiders but they continue to come for a piece of the $6.2 million prize money.

Irish stayer Vintage Crop began the trend with his win in 1993 with trainer Dermot Weld also training Media Puzzle to victory in 2002. The International raiders have dominated in recent years with Protectionist, Fiorente and Dunaded all winning in the last five years.

The Internationals dominate Melbourne Cup odds yet again and this year will include Fame Game, Max Dynamite and Goldstream. Of the locals Hartnell and Who Shot Thebarman are the best hopes while last year’s winner Protectionist is now part of the local crop since joining the Chris Lees stable.